Archive | 9:56 pm

Roses on the Ascension

20 May

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Franciscan Monastery of the Holy Land in America has beautiful gardens and I’d have to say the crowning jewels are the roses.

This morning I decided to attend Mass at the monastery and snap some shots before the roses fade away for the season. When I found myself at the Ascension Chapel, a praying visitor reminded me that it was the chapel’s feast day, the fortieth day after Easter which commemorates Christ’s ascension to heaven.

Climbing on the portico walls to find good lighting and healthy flowers, I was accompanied by huge bumblebees. While they were buzzing around, their determination was so focused that I didn’t need to worry about them bothering me. It was fun to just watch them do their late springtime thing.